top of page

Several Important Local Races on Ballot, Register to VOTE Deadline Approaching, and Voting by Absent

Dear Friends and Neighbors,

If you are not registered to vote and would like to vote in the upcoming primary on June 9th, you must register by this Sunday, May 10. Voters can register in person, online, or through a mail-in registration application by visiting

Registering online will require a driver’s license or an identification issued by the DMV. You may register in person at the Richland County Elections and Voter Registration office located at 2020 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC, 29204, but you must do so by 5 pm on Friday, May 8, or mail in your application — available online here . Remember it must be postmarked prior to Sunday. Applications also can be accepted no later than 11:59 p.m. on Sunday by fax (803) 576-1510 or by email at

There will be several important local, State House, and congressional races on the ballot, including the Richland County Sheriff, Richland County Coroner, and several Richland County Council races. Since we don't register by party, you may vote in either primary but you may not vote in both. For a list of these races, please see below.

Due to COVID-19, I believe more people will be voting by absentee ballot. Please visit for information on obtaining an absentee ballot.

In Person - You may vote absentee in person by visiting the Richland County Elections and Voter Registration office, completing an application, and casting your vote. You may vote absentee in person up until 5:00 p.m. on the day before the election. Rules for photo ID required to vote at the polling place apply.

By Mail - Voting absentee by mail requires the following steps. Photo ID is not required to vote absentee by mail.

Step 1: Get an absentee application in one of two ways:

  • Get the application online. Use this link to get your application or the application of an immediate family member. You must be able to print it or save it for printing later. You can also use this link to access your application to print again.

  • Request an application for yourself or your immediate family member from the Richland County Elections and Voter Registration office by phone (803) 576-2240, email at, fax (803) 576-1510 or mail, and you will be mailed an application.

Step 2: Once you've printed your application online or received your application in the mail, you must complete it, sign it, and return it to the Richland County Elections and Voter Registration office located at 2020 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC, 29204. You should return the application as soon as possible but no later than 5:00 p.m. on the Friday before the election, which is June 5, 2020 for the primary. You may return the application by mail, email, fax, or personal delivery.

Step 3: Receive your absentee ballot in the mail.

Step 4: Vote the ballot by following the instructions and returning it to the Richland County Elections and Voter Registration office located at 2020 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC, 29204, by 7:00 p.m. on the day of the election. You may return the ballot personally or by mail. You may also have another person return the ballot for you, but you must first complete an authorization to return absentee ballot form, available from the voter registration office.

Here is a full list of the local elections for the respective party's primary on June 9, 2020:

Democratic Primary -

Richland County Sheriff

Leon Lott

Jason Roberts

A V Strong

Richland County Council District, 02

Derrek Pugh

Joyce Dickerson

Richland County Council District, 07

Richard Brown

Gretchen Barron

Gwendolyn Davis Kennedy

Richland County Council District, 08

Hamilton Grant

Wayne Gilbert

Overture Walker

Richland County Council District, 09

Jonnieka Farr

Calvin Chip Jackson

Angela Gary Addison

Jerry Rega

Richland County Council District, 10

Dalhi Myers

Cheryl D English

Jackie Bush

Richland County Coroner

Gary Watts

Naida Rutherford

State House of Representatives, District 75

Rhodes Bailey

Heather Bauer

State House of Representatives, District 80 Jimmy Bales

Jermaine Johnson

Republican Primary –

State Senate - District 20

Benjamin Dunn

Randy Dickey

State Senate, District 22 David Larsen

Lee Blatt

If you have a comment or opinion concerning the matters discussed in this report, or if I may be of assistance to you at any time, please feel free to call my legislative office at (803-212-6940) or write to me at 532C Blatt Building, Columbia, South Carolina 29201 or

Thank you for the honor and privilege of representing you and our community at the State House.

Be safe! Stay vigilant!


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page